top of page
Anchor 1

Silakhuyo: If I Were a Boy

This short piece is written as I recall a few experiences of my struggle with gender roles--which are both evident from childhood up to present.


I remember one time, I opened up during our counselling sessions, led by a nun. I told her my troubles of balancing my family and career. And what she told me was, I was being “too much”, and selfish. Then I wondered, if I were a boy, would she tell me the same?


When I was turning 18, I wanted to learn how to drive I enrolled in a driving school, attended my classes and practiced with the instructors. Before the school ended, I decided to ask help from my uncle to practice with me. He then laughed and he told me, “Why learn how to drive?” Then I wondered, if I were a boy, would he still ask me?


I have always dreamt of being independent and to live on my own. My career gave me this opportunity, and suddenly I had a reason to move out. I told my mother about this, and she said, “What about me??” So I answered, “If I get married, would I still not be allowed to move out?” In return, she said, “That’s different.” So I wondered, if I were a boy, would I be questioned for choosing myself?


Isinulat ni Aimee

Recent Posts

See All

Silakhuyo: Babae

Isinulat ang tulang ito upang magbigay importansya sa papel na ginagampanan ng ating kakabaihan sa lipunan. May isang nilalang na Malaki ang ginagampanan Sa buhay ko at ng ibang tao Siya ang pinagmula

bottom of page